What happened to “old” tech?

I was having a conversation via comments with David St. Lawrence aka oldauditor (to follow that thread, go to my Introduction post) and I realized I should really make this a post. There’s just more I want to say and it shouldn’t really be done in a comment, so here goes…

I’ve heard more than one person in the Field refer to how the tech from the ‘50s and ‘60s were “discarded.” Okay, granted I’ve been off lines for over 20 years, so perhaps this has become the norm in today’s Churches, but it’s certainly not what LRH said. As I quoted in my comment thread:

In HCO PL 8 May 1969, Issue IV, Out Tech, he states:

All of Dianetics and Scientology works. Some of it works faster.”

Or go to HCO PL 17 June 1970RB, Technical Degrades, where LRH lists as one of the HIGH CRIMES:

“2. Adding comments to checksheets or instructions labeling any material ‘background’ or ‘not used now’ or ‘old’ or any similar action which will result in the student not knowing, using and applying the data in which he is being trained.”

But those aren’t the only references. I found a terrific Bulletin that’s part of the Case Supervisor Series, HCOB 30 June 1970R, VIII Actions. I’m going to quote a rather large passage that’s applicable to this discussion:

“Inevitably, when any new approach or process is released, some will instantly assume that all ‘older’ (actually more basic) data has been cancelled. There is no statement to that effect. It is not guessed that this will be assumed and so we could lose an entire subject.

“We did in fact lose Dianetics for a decade and all but lost Scientology in the following ten years.

“A subject can be reorganized and made more workable. That was done in 1969 for Dianetics. BUT IT HAD NEVER BEEN UNWORKABLE!

“The 1969 Dianetics Reorganization refined the 1962-63 discoveries of R-3-R. A better communication was made to the user and the preclear.

“Amazingly, the reissue of Dianetics as Standard Dianetics caused about a dozen people (even in high places unfortunately) to at once assume that Dianetics wiped out any need for Power, Scientology Clearing or anything else! Even an unauthorized Policy Letter (not signed by me) and an HCO B (also not signed by me) gave this impression. They were of course cancelled the instant they were discovered to have been sent out.

“The idea that the ‘old’ is always cancelled by anything ‘new’ has its root in the idea that a later order cancels earlier orders, which is true. But orders are one thing and Tech basics another.”

When I was on staff in the ‘80s, I audited PCs with Book One auditing. It doesn’t get much “older” than that. So if the current CofS is saying the “old” technology has been discarded, recognize this is an off policy, out tech viewpoint.

This leads to a tangential point regarding the Tech. I know there are people in the Field who have taken it upon themselves to “embrace and extend” the Tech LRH mapped out for us. Sure, in the early days things were pretty wild and woolly, with a lot of “seat of the pants” auditing. Some things worked, some didn’t, and some were really bad. But as LRH explained in HCO PL 14 February 1965, Safeguarding Technology:

“Scientology is a workable system. This does not mean it is the best possible system or a perfect system. Remember and use that definition. Scientology is a workable system.”

Perhaps these folks are developing viable procedures and are getting good results. If so, I say good for them. But personally, I don’t want to be a guinea pig. I know the Tech LRH laid out for us does work. It brings to mind what LRH pointed out in HCO PL 13 November 1972, Affluence Attainment:

“Doing the things that won, not new things untried as yet.”

For instance, I’ve read about auditors conducting sessions over the internet. That’s scary to me. I know computers. I’m on mine most of the day. I have FiOS, so I’ve got a great connection, but there are still drop outs with live streaming. That could easily cause a missed read. Plus a slower connection could cause a critical lag. I’m a pretty fast PC and let me tell you; having the auditor say “That” and the precise moment is vital. Lag and I’ll have moved on to something else and you’ll miss it. Plus calling “That” after the correct picture’s passed could ARC break the PC.

Depending on how good the lighting and camera is on the PC’s side, you very well may not be able to see things like skin tone change, pupil change, that sweat starting to bead at his temple, etc. These are valuable “tells” for an auditor. Plus you can’t control the session. You can’t be sure the dog doesn’t suddenly jump into the PC’s lap. That his child doesn’t scream for him to come help. That there aren’t noises off that distract him. And there’s always the possibility of a power failure or some other reason why the connection is lost. As an auditor, I’ve run some pretty hairy Book One sessions and I’d certainly not want to leave a PC mid running some of the incidents I’ve dealt with in those sessions. To me, the risks simply don’t outweigh the benefits.

I understand the argument about how technology has advanced so much farther since LRH was alive, but that doesn’t change all the above. An auditor needs to be fully in communication with his PC. Sitting a few feet in front of the PC is obviously much more effective than trying to communicate via a computer. (And we won’t go into the fact that it is a via.)

Now, that said, I’m not advocating those auditors be shut down. If it works for them and the PC understands what’s being delivered isn’t exactly what LRH mapped out, okay. But it’s not for me. And I’m confident that if LRH were here, he’d simply say anyone wanting to deviate needs to star-rate and clay demo Keeping Scientology Working and Safeguarding Technology.

2 thoughts on “What happened to “old” tech?

  1. Hi,
    Good post.
    There is another factor (via) involved with auditing over the internet – the government (take your pick which agency / government) is more and more monitoring and spying on electronic communication. So much for confidentiality of priest / penitent communication.
    Encoding / decoding adds to the processing time.
    (I may be paranoid, but it doesn’t mean that I am wrong.)
    1984

Your thoughts?

