Assuring Standard Tech

In my last post, I got on my Admin soap box, but lest you think I just hobby-horse that subject because of my training, let me reveal my ‘ulterior’ motive.

I’ve had to come to accept that my Church will probably not be saved from total destruction. That concerns me on a number of levels. I know the Field has managed to ‘save’ much of the Tech, but what about things like tech films, the B.C.-only material on the Briefing Course, and all the upper levels? Will I be able to access these things in the Field? Will the Tech I receive be Standard?

What does that all have to do with Admin? Hand in hand with the aversion to Admin I’ve seen among some in the Field is an aversion to any kind of centralized Organization. I understand the fears — that any new Organization could some day turn into the monster we’re witnessing today in CofS — but there’s a reason LRH put in the level of organization he did.

Sure, in the early years things were pretty ‘wild and woolly’, but LRH soon figured out it wasn’t all that operational. Among other things, having a central Organization allowed for setting and enforcing standards. Think of it like McDonald’s. You know if you go into a MickyD’s in New York, LA, or even London, that Big Mac will taste the same. The same ingredients and cooking method will be used. Standardization is a good thing. It’s good for the employees who don’t have to reinvent the wheel. It’s good for the consumer who can satisfy his hunger without worrying about it tasting weird.

A central Organization provides a central repository for all the Tech. It can be kept safe and made available when needed.

A central Organization makes good business sense, too. One entity can handle promotion and marketing (something I’ll touch on in a future post), making it more cost effective.

But it’s the certainty of standardness, or lack thereof in the current scene, that I worry about most. My husband mentioned this in his recent post Whither Standard Tech?. I’m not auditor trained. I may not know whether an auditor is using the correct list. I won’t know if the auditor is properly reading the meter. Sure, if I “red tag” I’ll have a clue there’s something wrong, but I’d rather not, thank you. Perhaps some outness just means something that should take one intensive, ends up taking three. I won’t know there’s a problem. And to the degree I worry about things like this, is the degree I won’t be fully ‘in session’. It could give me a Present Time Problem (PTP) right from the get-go.

Before COB turned our tech delivery into “a dog’s breakfast”, you knew when you got auditing in an Org that the auditor was trained, interned, and answered to a CS, Tech Sec, etc. After you finished your session, you went to an examiner — another opportunity to catch any problem. You knew if he/she did something wrong in a session, it would be caught and corrected with cramming. But we don’t necessarily have that in the field.

Many field auditors are ‘one man shows’. Sure, they’re hopefully using a CS to program the case, but that’s usually done over a long distance comm line. No separate examiner. No Tech Sec or Qual Sec.

Even if the field auditor is using a separate CS, is that CS actually reviewing folders? Does the auditor ever submit videos of their sessions?

While the ideal solution is building a new Organization that enforces Standard Tech, Standard Admin, and hatting, I know that will be hard for some to accept. With that in mind, I offer another solution I hope the Field will consider. I think it addresses the fears of those against any kind of organization.

Some central entity (call it what you will) would ‘certify’ auditors through a specific VOLUNTARY process. Let me stress that again — this would be voluntary. Auditors who don’t do this could still audit in the field all they wanted. But those that do choose to could then market that fact. For illustration purposes, let’s call this certification status “Gold Seal”. The actual process to achieve this status should be designed by highly trained auditors, but off the top of my head I think they should:

1) Have to answer a test based on the training level they claim to have achieved.

2) Have to submit some folders for examination.

3) Have to submit some session videos where their metering and TRs could be checked.

Assuming they pass this certification process, they could then promote they’re “Gold Seal” auditors. That would be a great PR tool for the auditor. His/her PCs would feel more comfortable going into session.

The certification would need to be a paid service, but it shouldn’t be exorbitant. It should simply cover the costs of doing the review process. It should also only be good for a certain amount of time — perhaps a year. That way PCs will know the auditor’s tech will have been reviewed and certified relatively recently. Keeping it voluntary should appease those who are against any kind of organization. And those of us worried about the standardness of the Tech would be more assured. It’s a win-win.

3 thoughts on “Assuring Standard Tech

  1. Pingback: War-gaming the future | From Ashes Born

  2. I like your idea of voluntary ceritification. I agree that there is a continuing need to allow new auditors to gain credibility and a certification process has worked in many other industries.

    I wrote an article titled, “Do Independent Scientologists Need a Central Organization?” http://possiblyhelpfuladvice.com/?p=927 in which I suggest alternatives for every worthwhile function performed by a central organization. You might find it to be a source of useful ideas.

    • Voluntary is probably the only way to go. I realize it would be too difficult to put the genie back in the bottle, but prospective PCs need some kind of assurance they’re getting tech that works. I’ll read your article.

Your thoughts?

